This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trailers Aren't Supposed to Do That

I had to replace the battery in my riding lawnmower, so I tried to remove it. I was not successful, since I'm not a mechanic. So, I decided to rent a trailer from the Orange hardware store. I borrowed my mom's truck and drove down to Big Orange. (It was actually my dad's truck before he passed away last year.)

As I was driving back from Big Orange towing the trailer, I hit a bump in the road, and the trailer came loose and started to sway back and forth wildly. I slowed the truck down to see what happened. All of a sudden, I hear a thud and see smoke coming out of the rear end. I got out of the truck and see that the trailer was jammed between the duel tires on the right side. Thankfully, I was able to pull into a driveway out of traffic.

I immediately called AAA, Big Orange, and my mom. Thankfully, it looks like Big Orange is trying to make it right quickly. Unfortunately, AAA had to tow the truck to the body shop since the truck looked unsafe to drive.

I will keep you updated as this unfolds.
    This site proves Corey Taylor right. Man really is a "four letter word."

I'm now using my Deviant Art page to post my humor.

Did the tow hitch not get installed correctly?

Comment

It looked like it was properly hooked up. The trailer looked pretty old, though. Thankfully, one of the chains held the trailer to the truck, or it could have been worse.

Comment

Sounds like possibly one or both of the wheel bearings failed.

Comment

Came loose as in off the hitch or came loose as in pulled left to right?

Comment

It's evidently quite hard to tell what happened just from a description, so...

Comment

Here are some pictures of the aftermath.

Comment

The good news is that my mom's truck isn't as badly damaged as my avatar. The bad news is that it still needs body work, and the tires and muffler need to be replaced.