Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Living with the parents SUCKS sometimes... (rant!!!)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Living with the parents SUCKS sometimes... (rant!!!)

I'm 24, educated (I graduated with a BA at 21!), employed, and living with the parents (ugh). It's for financial reasons right now due to the Great Economic Collapse of 2009, but I'm saving my money to get out. I'm reasonably independent (I say reasonably because I'm not financially independent yet, but I'm responsible, reliable, pay my bills, clean up after myself - usually, help out around the house, etc).

My dad is being a complete jerk to me though. I have NO idea why. Lately, he's barely acknowledged me, and when he does, it's completely negative. It's criticism about why I didn't do this right or why I should have known better to do that right or why I screwed this particular thing up....

As I mentioned in a previous thread, they gave me some money to buy work clothes for Christmas. I was out ALL flipping day yesterday and wound up with some shirts. I was showing them my purchases, and all he could do is holler at me about why it doesn't fit right or why it's wrong or blah blah blah. I was asking WHY it doesn't fit right (I thought they fit fine!) so I could LEARN, and he fires back at me! I attempted (at first) to explain that I was trying to learn, but then I gave up. He can be absolutely incorrigible sometimes.

Then, he called me yesterday and was asking me to look for something at home. I explained that I wasn't at home, I was out shopping like Mom and I had discussed and he went on this tirade that I needed to clean my room and do the dishes and etc... I told him that yes, I know, and it will all be done before I go to bed. He hung up on me.