This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good with electronics, what to study?

I've been toying with the idea of going back to school. Life sucks for the unemployed when you have no degree or higher education of any kind.

I'm good with electronic things. I have a knack for them. Taking them apart, fixing them, connecting the wires, etc....even with no real training there's a number of things I can do to a computer, for example.

But I find it confusing when you look at the programs a school offers and I have no idea what they are. If I was going to study something like that in a college or tech school, what would the major be called?

I majored in Electronical Engineering (for a semester) in college and alot of it was hands-on circuity.

Also, as a computer hardware major (officially) there was a lot of hands-on with electronics to (digital ICs, wiring, making BUSses, FOX trainers etc..). It is a lot of fun (for me at leasy - I love those electronic kits for kids).

If you're good with PCs you might want to look into certifications (they can help). If you really want to go for it all - get your CCNA and you'll be worth a lot. Everyone is going towards web programming and MCSE but CCNAs aren't too common.

If you're really good, go to an electronics supply store and buy components and invent something (years ago I designed a hand-held speakerphone for cell phones - 6 months before bluetooth became widespread).
    Last edited by draggar; 02-06-2010, 01:07 AM.
    Quote Dalesys:
    ... as in "Ifn thet dawg comes at me, Ima gonna shutz ma panz!"

Comment

You'd actually have to look @ the classes IN THE MAJOR. Schools don't really have a consistent naming scheme.

You'd be good at looking for Electrical Engineer, Computer Hardware Technician, and possibly Network Administration (depending on how PC-computery you want to get).