This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need ideas for accessibility modifications

Attached is a picture of the outside front entry of my house. It's obviously not easy for the kid that uses a wheelchair more often than not. He can sometimes bump up and down the stairs on his butt, however that's not ideal long term. I've been searching for ideas that will make getting into the house easier for him (and for the other one with the bone disease on the less frequent occasions when walking is difficult for him as well), but I want it to look good as well. I'm not very good at design stuff.

To be quite honest, I adore the look of the front door in all it's spooky glory. I don't want to kill that look. This is also the entry to the house that would be the easiest to convert. There's a sidewalk that goes off to the left and around to the back the house, but there's a step up leading through the fence to the back yard, and there's 5 steps from the back yard to the sliding glass doors in the dining room. The door to the rec room has a small step, but that leads to the first floor (the middle floor is the main floor of the house, where the front door and dining room door lead to).

Since neither kid is completely paralyzed, and the little one has at least some use of his legs, it's not strictly necessary to have a ramp. The minimum would at least be some sort of handrail. I'm clueless what might actually look good, and hoping some of you guys might have some ideas.

Okay, I tried to attach the thing, but the "upload" button on the pop up window won't work. Here's the picture:

At the conclusion of an Irish wedding, the priest said "Everybody please hug the person who has made your life worth living. The bartender was nearly crushed to death.