This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Well, that's it....

Some old lady: (showing me something from trimmery that is now on clearance) The sign says this is 50% off and the tag says it was $2. How much is this? I'm not very good at math.

O RLY? I think you left "not good at math" territory quite a while ago, and are now venturing into "How the hell do you even function?" land.
    Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard. Be evil.

"I never said I wasn't a horrible person."--Me, almost daily

Something similar at my work today.

A customer and I were talking about Christmas and I said, "Well, 363 more days until I have to listen to Christmas music again!"

The guy was AMAZED I was able to figure that out easily. "I'd have to pick up my calendar and COUNT all those days! I'd have to pick up last year's calendar and the coming year's calendar and count it there!"

Really? If a year is 365 days long and today is the 27th of December and therefore two days after Christmas, it would make sense that you just subtract two days?
    Success is not final, failure is not fatal: It is the courage to continue that counts.-Winston Churchill

Comment

Quoth ralerin View Post
      Really? If a year is 365 days long and today is the 27th of December and therefore two days after Christmas, it would make sense that you just subtract two days?

I would contradict that. Most stores start playing Xmas music one month in advance, many radio stations do that too...

Comment

Here's one that I get:

"How many words in a three-line ad?"
        "About 8 to 10, approximately."
        "OK, here's my ad: *Chevrolet 2006 Taurus, 4 door, air conditioning, green, 55,000 miles, new brakes, power windows, power locks, ABS, clean, well maintained, no dents, all service records, asking...(blah blah blah)...How much room do I have left on the 3 lines?"

You're kidding, right?

*Totally made all that up. But you get the idea.