This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tracer Shortage

Bit of background for this one. I'm studying to be a Nuclear Medicine tech. One of our primary imaging agents is the element Technicium. The way we get technicium is through a generator that has Molybdenum in it, and the Moly decays to the Tech. Moly is a fission product, which means it can only be produced in a nuclear reactor.

There are very few nuclear reactors worldwide. I think the exact number is 8, but I don't remember exactly. One in Europe just went down recently, which doesn't impact the US supply too much as the reactor we get our generators from is in Canada.

Well, today the department supervisor frantically called everyone into a meeting after lunch today to tell us that Canada's reactor got struck by lightning. Yes, you read that right: the REACTOR WE DEPEND ON TO GET OUR IMAGING AGENTS HAS BEEN STRUCK BY LIGHTNING!!1!! That means NO GENERATORS!

When I said Tech is our primary imaging agent, I meant literally EVERYTHING WE USE has Tech in it. So for at least the next week, we'll be doing what's called duel-isotope studies for cardiac stress tests. Resting pictures are done with Thallium, and the stress images use the Tech agent (in this case, Cardiolite). We HATE Thallium. It has a higher energy and a longer half-life than Tech, which means we can't use as much. Therefore, our images with Thallium--to put it nicely--look like crap. We also have 5 minutes to get the patients on the camera, or else the Thallium will redistribute and mask any problem areas. We also have to store waste until it's at background levels. Tech products take about 24 hours or so to get to background. Thallium takes about 30 days. No one has room for that kind of long-term storage.

Hopefully they get that reactor up again soon, or we're really in trouble. *sigh*