X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bellydancing with a sad tummy (long)

First real post, woot!

So I am a professional bellydancer.

The owner of one restaurant where I perform is just totally rude to his dancers. To be fair, he comes from a culture where dancers are on the same social rung as prostitutes. He just doesn't get the fact that bellydancers in the States are often educated professionals... I even know a few dancers with PhD's. But even though dancer after dancer has lectured him -- and many have quit and let him know why -- he continues to be a jerk. He expects dancers to come in as soon as he snaps his fingers, even though most of us live in the 'burbs, and gets annoyed when we remind him that he needs to give an hour's notice. It's like we're not real people and can materialize in an instant. He hits on the dancers and is also a huge pain in the ass about paying. His favorite excuse is that he "ran out of checks."

Tonight I had food poisoning and it was my night to dance. I should have looked for a sub at the first sign of tummy trouble and instead tried to suck it up and just deal, so I bear a great deal of responsibility for what happened. But I told him as soon as I realized how sick I was (over an hour before the show) and asked him to look for a sub right away. After he lied to me and told me he'd called everyone and nobody could do it, I reiterated, "I can do a set if nobody else can come in." He finally DID call right before showtime, and made a point of doing so in front of me so I could hear his passive-aggressive remarks. Of course by then everyone had eaten dinner and had a full tummy and couldn't dance. If he'd just called when I first told him to he could have probably found a sub.

It is a point of pride that I have never cancelled a gig, I danced on a sprained ankle once. I did a private party -- the most demanding type of gig -- the night right after I found out my dad had cancer. NEVER cancelled, ever.