This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hina hits the wall and crashes

I'm sorry if this is in the wrong place.

My father works 12 hour night shifts at his job. Three nights, three off, three days, three off, and it starts again. While his night shifts are long, his sleep patterns are too messed up by it. He has a few days to reset between the different kinds of shifts.

I on the other hand work one 8 hour night shift a week while attending normal university classes. True, I do it on the weekend, but it really messes me up. First, I don't have a weekend anymore. Saturday is spent sleeping so i don't crash at the desk. And Sunday is spent crashing after my shift. Then i have to get to bed at a decent time so I can get up and go to class on Monday.

I have been working overnights at the desk for two years, and it's finally gotten me. I can't do it anymore. My sleep cycle doesn't reset as well. I can't sleep during the day for some reason. It's really bad. I'm kind of deteriorating.

Returning workers get their choice of shifts and I picked the Saturday to Sunday overnight. It's four hours more than day time workers get with 50 cents more an hour. I truly thought having it on the weekend would make it easier to do. But it hasn't.

Or at least, it doesn't anymore. My body just can't stand it anymore. I'm done.

So now I'm at the mercy of my co-workers. I've sent them an e-mail begging for a day worker to switch with me. I need the money too badly to just give the shift away to a reserve worker, so I'm really stuck between a rock and a cliff edge. Because, as I said, I'm crashing hard.

I'm really concerned.
    Last edited by hinakiba777; 03-22-2009, 07:38 AM.
    Hinakiba777- Student of Divinity-Always trying to get laid.

Annoying student=I pay tuition here so I pay your salary!
    Desk Worker=I pay tuition here, too. So I guess I pay myself.

I feel your pain.