This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I didn't realize how sucky burns truly are

I work in a restaurant at the college I attend, and we use a steamer, which heats the food up before it goes on the line to serve. The cabinet is set to 220 degrees.

I was putting food in the steamer yesterday when the cabinet overflowed onto my leg..I held my pants leg out and then grabbed my shoe and sock and ripped them off of my foot because of the pain..and the skin of my foot came off with it.

2nd degree burns on my foot and ankle. I had my co-worker call the boss in from a meeting while I hobbled out to the front and put ice on my foot, they called HR and then they took me to the Urgent Care clinic that they use for Worker's Comp. Where I was told that the doctor didn't believe in painkillers..that they were overused.

I told her that I DID believe in painkillers, I had a burn over 40% of the top of my foot, and that I NEEDED something to take for the pain. She gave me tylenol.

She also told me that she couldn't say whether I could go back to work or not, that was up to my job, but that I couldn't be on the foot and that I couldn't wear a shoe..REALLY. What gives with Worker's Comp? It's like, well, yes, you are injured, and yes, you are in pain, but we don't believe it really helping.

Fortunately, I had some codeine left from a previous surgery (I keep all my drugs, lol) and was able to sleep last night, but MAN does it hurt! I never realized how much a big burn could hurt....
    Remember, stressed spelled backwards is desserts.

Burns are excruciatingly painful, esp 2nd degree.

It is not up to your job when you can go back to work. It is up to the doctor. In most states, once you've seen the WC doc, you can follow up with your own doc if you don't like the WC doc. Check your state regs on this; if allowed, go see your own doc.