This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Feel So Dirty...

...or How I Managed to Get my Newspaper Delivered Properly.

I have a subscription to our local paper. Because we have some neighbors who refuse to tie up their dogs, we had to get a special box to set up next to our mailbox to ensure that we got the paper instead of the dogs shredding it. This arrangement worked fine until 2 weeks ago, when we got a new delivery guy.

The new guy, for some reason, refuses to put the paper in the box, instead tossing it on the ground at the first corner of our lot that he gets to. So, for 14 days in a row, I had to call the paper to complain about it (about half of the time, the dogs got the paper before I did, and they had to run a new one out). I was always pleasant and nice about it, and the CSR said they would talk to the delivery manager about it. Nothing ever came of it.

Until yesterday. We've had quite a bit of rain recently (6.5 inches yesterday alone), and I went out to find the paper in a nice deep puddle. Now, the paper WAS in a plastic bag, but a bag thrown into a deep puddle == a bag full of water. So when I called (for the 15th time in a row), I turned on the SC. I raised my voice, asked why they 'refused' to deliver properly, threatened to cancel my subscription, etc. etc. Guess what? Paper was in the box this morning.

Now, I ask this. WHY was this necessary? I spend 14 calls being the nicest guy in the world, trying to get my problem resolved, and nothing happens. But one call being an [censored] is all it took. That actually made me mad, seeing as how I was trying to avoid becoming an SC while still getting my paper delivered properly.

--Dave

I've often wondered this myself. Being nice sadly does not get a lot of results in far too many instances.