This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A GOOD sighting at the bank

I went in today to deposit my severance cheques from work, one being about $500something and the other $600something (the dollars and cents of it brought the total to just over $1,200).

The transaction went through quickly and even with waiting I couldn't have been in there for more than five minutes.
    I leave with my receipt and check it on the way out.

It says $700something. Um... no... I'm not too good with math but even without the extra dollars and cents I know that 5 + 6 =/= 7.

So I head back in, wait for an available teller and get the teller next to the one I originally had, as she was busy.

Me: Oh hi, I was just in to deposit a couple cheques and I think the wrong amount was accidentally entered. The amounts were $500something and $600something.
    Teller: Which branch did you deposit it at?
    Me: This one. I was just in.
    (This teller was outside having a smoke when I came in she she didn't even know I was in there. I know this because I saw her walk around back as I was entering the bank.)

Then the teller I made the deposit with stops what she's doing with the customer she's helping and hands me a new receipt.

Teller: I noticed the mistake as soon as you left. One of my keys is sticking. I was going to try and catch up to you to give you the new receipt.

I thought the gesture that she would have done that was exceptional and she was so polite about everything.
    I made sure I was calm about it, too, since I knew it was a mistake that could have been easily fixed.

What I liked was at the beginning of the transaction. Seeing that the cheques said IKEA on them she asked if that's what their pay cheques look like. I told her it was just my last pay and that I had left (not wanting to mention I was fired) and she replied, "I guess they're not a very good company to work for, eh?"
    Oh how right she was.

So there, a happy sighting.