X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It felt so wrong

Today I did something I have never done before

I used a self checkout....

I purposely dont use them because I dont want people losing their jobs to a machine even if it means standing in line for a few more minutes.

However the staff member who was running them came over and asked if I wanted to use one, I said no and she asked why and I got flustered and said I didnt know how, she offered to show me, then I said I was paying with cash (I didnt realise the damn things TOOK cash) then the guy in front of me must of thought I was in a hurry when he heard this

because then he offeres to let me go ahead as I only had one item and was paying with cash

so now I have the two of them urging me to use the stupid machine that I DONT want to use on a matter or principal, but with both of them going at me at once I got flustered and let myself be led over to a damn machine

then the staff member hovered over me like I was some sort of idiot prompting me along ever so politely.... it was so frustrating

I felt like saying to her, Im want to be served by a human being not a bleeping machine that demands I do this and that! Im trying to save you job here lady!

Anyway... I got through it, change came out in two seperate places, it took me twice as long because I didnt realise you had to put your thing in a bag (I didnt want a bag) then the lady explains theres a scale, then I have to read like 6 screens... sigh it was all so impersonal

I HATE those machines, I want to talk to a person!
    I wasnt put on this earth to make you feel like a man ~ Mary Bertone

I can sympathize about wanting to do the right thing ethically for the employees, but it doesn't sound like any of them were being particularly sucky (in fact, it sounds like the employee manning the self-checkouts went above and beyond).