This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This is not respectful or even acceptable

So we went to Fatz Saturday night with my inlaws. My mother in law is eighty something years old and to not put a real fine point on it, will not be mistaken for younger. She is frail, tiny, and very obviously at the very least an octogenarian.

Twenty something year old food runner calls her "sweetie" when putting her plate in front of her. Not "ma'am", not "Missus," not even "Mother."

I have a problem with that. The lady's old enough to be your great grand, you don't call her "sweetie."

I turned around gave her "The Look". I don't know if she clued in or what, but she didn't do it again (and anyways, she was just running food, not our waitress, we only had to deal with her once). If she's been our server and done it again, I would have said something.

Now, y'all know me, I used to work in a restaurant, and I am not one of these people who need my ass kissed. I treat people with respect, and it doesn't matter to me that they're a high school kid bagging my groceries or the CEO of the company I used to work for. But I've seen, say, cashiers calling little old gray haired ladies "sweetie" in checkout lines and I'm always a little shocked by it. Someone doing it to my mil in a restaurant is really offensive.

I mean, this is the south, and a woman saying to me or any other younger woman is pretty much how we talk down here. But saying it to a bent, frail, clearly very elderly lady is not respectful.

I too, am southern, and I call most everyone ma'am. Even though MY grandmother tells me this is disrespectful to people younger than me but I never say it in an ill manner. If they don't warrant it, I DO NOT call then ma'am.

Comment