Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Watching the Detectives (Very Long - sorry)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Watching the Detectives (Very Long - sorry)

As I have mentioned before I work as a tv news shooter so I readily admit my categories of 'client' and 'customer' don't exactly fit, but I figured I would toss in this story here to add to the general merriment. All apologies if I have chosen the wrong part of the board.

Back in May I had a ladder collapse under me and I shattered my left heel bone. I had surgery and was out of work six weeks. Since I have returned they have had me working in the building editing.

Mind you I appreciate the work, it needs to be done, but my usual thing is to work out in the public, running around, shooting news, so to be stuck inside for months has been a bit hard.

Recently, with the gracious assistance of my dad I was able to resurrect an 2004 Ford Explorer that had been my work truck until it blew the engine 2.5 years ago and I bought it from the company for $200 hoping to one day fix it. I have been without a vehicle since I returned to work (insert long story about divorce, lawyers & child support here) so to get wheels was a joy.

Once I got it running I found an old scanner, tossed my camera & gear in the back and I am ready to catch anything cool I find during my off time. It is important to realize that as a field guy I generally make a tidy overtime shooting random spot news I stumble on, something I haven't done since May. I am just coming off crutches, so my abilities are limited, but I can still hold a camera and zoom in.