This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No need for perfume at the gym

Ok, so I was on the elliptical. Some old lady walks by like 3 feet away smelling like she took a bath in a few gallons of perfume. I am quite sensitive to a lot of fragrances, esp women's. I slowed way down in my workout and felt like crap the rest of the day. All you need is deodorant when working out. Perfume should be used for going out somewhere, and not to bathe in it either.

Ugh, I have the same problem with heavy perfume that you do. I'm sensitive to smells, and too much of anything can leave me nauseous for the rest of the day. Axe is the absolute worst when it comes to body sprays. Blegh.

Comment

I'm fairly new to the gym, so I haven't encountered this there but...

There's a park with a trail that goes around the lake. It's very popular for walking/jogging/biking, and even horseback riding. One day, a jogger passed us, and I could smell her from yards away. I'm not particularly sensitive to perfume, but she was making my nose itchy and my eyes water up. I remember thinking good thing we were outdoors, as I wouldn't want to be in any sort of enclosed space with her.

I myself have come to terms with my stinkiness at the gym. I get very sweaty and stinky, but then so is everyone else, so who cares?
      Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.

Comment

I'm glad I'm not the only one sensitive to perfumes and scents. Working out is the worst place I'd like to be exposed to it, too. I'm already breathing heavy and I don't feel like coughing and feeling ill because someone thinks they're being fashionable.
        A lion however, will only devour your corpse, whereas an SC is not sated until they have destroyed your soul. (Quote per infinitemonkies)

Comment

I'd be so annoyed. I have enough problems with perfumes on public transport and in the office!