This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Police are apparently exempt

So, where I live in Orem, UT, and just south of here in Provo, the police are known for being crooked, mean, and far too under paid. I haven't been pulled over in either city, but the one I did get pulled over by was definitely power tripping.

Anywho, I have a friend who lives up in Pleasant Grove, the town directly north of Orem, and found this wonderful mess in his apartment complex:

If that were my car, it'd have been towed within 5 minutes.
    Coworker: Distro of choice?
    Me: Gentoo.
    Coworker: Ahh. A Masochist. I thought so.

Wow, you live right by me! *also in Provo* It's true. The police here are terrible. I think part of it is that they're bored, but still. It's ridiculous.

Comment

I never ran into that with the police in Provo, but then I was a University student, not a regular resident, so I usually delt with Campus Police instead. Sounds like New Haven police, though.

Seriously. I saw one cop on the highway here who kept changing lanes without signalling. He got off the highway at the same exit as me, and went to turn into Walmart. There was a red light, with a No Turn on Red sign (like most of the city). He turned anyway. Go figure. Of course, almost no one in this town actually heeds the No Turn on Red (except where it's actually allowed; then they sit there until they get a green), and it seems like less than half the people here bother with signals when changing lanes.
      "Enough expository banter. It's time we fight like men. And ladies. And ladies who dress like men. For Gilgamesh...IT'S MORPHING TIME!"
      - Gilgamesh, Final Fantasy V

Comment

That's pretty damned sad.

Heck, where I am I can ticket an ambulance for sitting in a handicap spot during a non-emergency! Though, I wouldn't do that to the city's ambulances, which never do that; only the privately owned ones.