X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sorry... the kitchen is closed.

Hi all...

I work in a restaurant. The hours of said restaurant are clearly printed on the front door. On sunday nights, we close at 9pm. Part of three walks in around 8.45pm, that's 15 minutes until closing. Now, we aren't officially closed yet, but, we have them "the speech" (politely told them they had to sit down, order, eat, and GTFO).

Me: Hi there.
    SC: Hi... Is it too late to get a table for 3?
    Me: Well, we are closing in 15 minutes, but, if you order quickly, i can get you in.
    SC: Okay... great.
    Me: Follow me *grabs menus, ticket, and leads them to a table*

At this point i stand a few tables away to give them time to look over the menu, but still be able to take the order as soon as they are ready. They decide what they want, and order, and their food is delivered, after which the kitchen staff goes home, as it is now past 9pm. After finishing their meals:

Me: Would you like any coffee or dessert tonight? (we can do desserts, drink refills and coffee orders at this point, but no more food orders)
    SC: Can we place carry-out order?
    Me: Sorry, im afraid the kitchen closed at 9. I can offer you dessert, coffee, or drinks but no food.
    SC: Why is the kitchen closed? There are still customers here!
    Me: As i said, the kitchen stops taking orders at nine... After nine, they will cook any orders already in, but the chefs leave as soon as they are done.
    SC: So, there is noone here to cook the food i want?
    Me: That's correct sir.
    SC: Well, you can call them to come back here, i want to get some food to take home.
    Me: Im sorry sir, i can't do that. Our hours are clearly posted on the front door, and i told you when you came in that all orders had to be in before nine.
    SC: Well, that isn't right. The customer is always right! I insist that you get someone here right now to prepare my food!