Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First Night on the Job, Last night for a few weeks. (long)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Night on the Job, Last night for a few weeks. (long)

Long time reader, First time poster. I worked in retail for a few years while in school until I transferred to a new college, plenty of stories from that job but that will be for another time. Anyway back to the now, I'm now going to school in a college town, and if there is one thing anyone knows about college kids is they like to drink. To pay for school I managed to land a job at *insert generic club name here* as a bouncer. Now from what I understand from the other bouncers who have been there much longer than I have, most of the job entails looking intimidating, asking people to leave, and the occasional minor scuffle you may need to actually intervene on, or more likely if its anywhere outside the cops will take care of it. So first day was Friday, at a time known to college students as "drunk o'clock." While standing there looking intimidating, I see a kid who has no wristband, so I decide to go over and inquire about why that is.

Part 2: The conflict.

Clearly the student had been drinking, but through the slurring I determine him saying something to the effect of having torn his wristband, before he pulled it out of his pocket and shows it to me, no problem right? Wrong. This wristband is months old (I can see this even though its pitch black inside and the bass is doing its best to shake my eyes through the back of my skull), and is the wrong color, as they are color coded for this very reason. When I inform him of this, I expect one of three things to happen.

1. Apologizes, Goes outside and buys a wristband for 10 dollars. (if only)
    2. Gets argumentative, gets thrown out.
    3. Backs down, leaves of own free will. (also such a good option)