This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Woes of a Library Digital Media Lab

So this is my first time posting but I started a new job a few months ago and its pretty entertaining. I work in a Digital Media lab that is part of a library. Basically it is a video and audio studio with lots of equipment and a lot of software. The space is free for any patron who belongs to our library. So the few stories I have so far.

Sandwich-
    We do not allow any food or uncovered drinks anywhere in the library except in the cafe.
    A regular patron W booked an audio booth but it took us nearly an hour to get it set up since it was my first time dealing with the equipment. I felt bad for cutting into his time so I decided to let him know that I was going to give him extra time. I open the lovely soundproof door and there he is eating a pb&j in our lovely brand new booth. Lets just say he didn't get any extra time.

Just because it can does not mean it should-
    As stated above we have soundproof booths they are rated to 60decibals(db). We found out the hard way our speakers go up to 110db. I feel like they don't quite get it when I explain that 60db is rated at the volume of aircraft. So if I can hear the lyrics through the doors it might be a bit too loud. Apparently I have dog like hearing. Most of the guys are smart enough not to annoy me and will turn it down as soon as I knock on the door others not so much. According to them I am lying when I tell them that by playing the monitors so loud they can blow them out. I will let them figure that one out when they are on the hook for $100 speakers.

Karma is really funny-