This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For the Love of Cheese, Speak UP

How many more times must I ask this simple question before I die? It is so unbelievably simple, yet 9 out of 10 customers just can't bring themselves to do this.

Speak loud enough and clear enough for the cashier to be able to hear him/her and know what they want.

I just came off a 7 1/2 hour shift on a register - on Easter Sunday - and I'm still wound up. I know I sounded like a broken record today . . . "Please speak up, I can't hear very well at all."

How hard is this to grasp?????? If I thought people would actually read and pay attention, I would have posted a sign at my register reading:

Please speak up when talking to the cashier . . . she can't hear you otherwise.

I know I need my hearing checked . . . I've been whining about it for several years, but it has grown noticeably worse. I can see lips move, yet I can't hear what's being said . . . especially when there's a lot of noise around me. Then you might as well be shouting over everything for me to hear you, much less me shouting so I can hear what I'm telling you over all the other noise.

So, if I ask you a second time if you have your store card, don't get snippy with me and tell me you don't have it - it won't do you any good, even after I explain that I couldn't hear you the first time b/c I have a hearing PROBLEM.

And don't look down at the floor or your clothes when speaking to me. I have yet to see a shirt talk back - if I do, I'm out the door and I'm not stopping for anybody.

Same goes for the mumblers . . . I don't know Mumblese - that wasn't a language offered by my high school 20 years ago when I was there.