This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No Training Allowed!

Another oldie of mine. I've been thinking of old ones seeing as I'm on holiday at the minute.

So, we had two new starters, and it was a pretty quiet, steady night. So the manager thought it would be a good idea to get the new guys onto a till and start training.

The tills have a training program, in which they can run through transactions, but it wont be counted on the system. So basically, one person pretends to be a customer with a menu, while the other gets to know the tills and rings through the fake transactions. Simple? A good way for them to get to know the tills, especially when I've been working there for two years and there are times I cant find anything.

So while they were doing this, we put a closed sign on their till, and the rest of us took care of the customers, now keep in mind, it is NOT busy. No customer was waiting more than a minute to be served, but of course, for some, a minute was far too long.

A customer walks up and slams his hands on the bar.

SC: I WANT THE MANAGER! NOW!
    Me: I'm the supervisor on duty, is there anything I can help you with?
    SC: What are THEY doing? *points to the poor innocent new starters*
    Me: Oh, they're training. We've got some new recruits so we're giving them the chance to get to know the system, instead of throwing them in the deep end...
    SC: I went up and they said they WEREN'T SERVING! Then THEY pointed me down here!
    Me: Well yes, they're training. Is there anything I can get you sir?
    SC: Why are you doing this while customers are waiting, I don't understand it!
    Me: Well we are having a quiet night, so its really the best time...
    SC: NO ITS NOT! THE BEST TIME IS WHEN YOU'RE CLOSED!
    Me: The problem with that sir, is that once the tills are cashed up, they no longer work until the morning...
    SC: You've got people waiting to be served! And you've got them playing at the end of the bar!