This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SCs and Snakes

So I attended another reptile show this fall, hoping to sell off my remaining hatchling snakes for the year... The amnesia has finally worn off, so here are some tales of customer suckiness from this round:

I want to breed snakes and make money!

Secretly, I laugh at these people. Not that there's anything wrong with breeding snakes or wanting to make a buck or two, but nobody ever got rich breeding cornsnakes. I've been doing it for 5+ years and I'm finally breaking even. The people who can live off of breeding cornsnakes have been in the business 30+ years, are well-recognized and produce the latest color/pattern morphs, and have no mortgage payment.

So normally when someone says this, I just nod and smile. The person in question this time was a kid, maybe in 4th grade? (I'm horrible at judging a kid's age, so that's my best guess.) His mom had dumped him and his friend at the reptile show to hang out all day, and had gone off to do... whatever. The boy (we'll call him Bobby and his friend Jack) came over to look at my table. He started looking at all the snakes (mostly the price tags I think) and mentioned that he wanted to breed snakes so he could make extra money.