X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When sales tax goes up...

...people get dumber.

I give this "lady' her check and she waves me back over and takes her daughter's crayon from her kid's menu and adds up the prices on the menu versus the prices that are on the check; since apparently it's different than the last time she was there. She says: "So 3.99 plus 3.99 is....?" and I say "Well, you wrote it down, you know better than me. Besides, I'm a student of social science."

Yes, I did say this to her. I don't have time to write down a cutesy script like y'all usually do; but the point I'm trying to make is that she thinks that in the middle of a dinner rush on a Friday night I'm going to sit down and do math with her. I said my manager would be more than happy to. (He came to the same conclusion and she wouldn't leave until our very pissed-off owner came out to explain to her that she had to pay a few cents more because sales tax went from 5-6%).

PS: It's a lot higher in DC so stop whining.
    "If you are planning not to tip, please let your server know before ordering so they can decide whether or not to wait on you" - from an advice column I read some time ago

What would have been even better would be if she paid the bill, but gave you a crappy tip. You could catch her before she leaves, grab a crayon, show her the bill, and say, "Now your bill is $xx.xx, so 15% of that is...." and just stare at her like she's a two year-old.

Comment

In the years that I worked in Convenience Store Hell, I saw the sales tax go up from 4% to 5%, then back down to 4%, and up to 5% again. (Vermont's sales tax now stands at 6%.) I'd get plenty of crap from people who had to pay a little more for things bike wine and cigarettes.

Since that store's specialty is beverages (primarily of the alcoholic variety), I can only imagine the crap that started flying when Vermont applied its sales tax to beer for the first time in 2006.