Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So, you already complained to the CEO, huh?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So, you already complained to the CEO, huh?

...then what good would coming in here do?

This one's long, as most of mine tend to be, but I tend not to post till I have someone that REALLY pisses me off.

Had an interesting one yesterday. As you know, I work in sales. We have a relatively new guy, and I was working with him on Sunday because a new ad broke in the paper and the company wanted to make sure we had someone experienced on the floor when customers came in.

You know those customers that just come in with a huge chip on their shoulders, itching for a fight? One came in while I was closing another customer and the new kid, K, went to handle her. As I'm working with my own couple, I'm keeping a close ear on K and this woman, since he is knew and easily gets overwhelmed when it comes to product knowledge and policies, so I can bail him out if he gets over his head.

As I'm finishing writing up this couple on a final sale, I hear a very common complaint from the SC. "You mean I even have to pay delivery on this?" I hear this quite a bit, because yes, we DO charge for delivery as opposed to including it in the cost of the furniture. Our warehouse is over 100 miles away, so yeah, it takes an effort to deliver furniture.

So I finish writing up the couple and I can see K is in some serious distress because the customer is chewing him out about our company policies. I don't mean complaining - I mean REALLY tearing him a new one. I walk over to the area to straighten a few things and to eavesdrop on the conversation. This is what I hear:

SC: Well, I have already written a complaint to [name of CEO] regarding your illegal practices. You're just making it up in the cost of delivery.
    K: Ma'am, I can't change the delivery charges.