This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chewed out for doing my job. (long)

Hello all. Long time lurker, first time poster.

Guess I'll start with a bit of background. I work in IT, and wear so many hats my neck is starting to cry foul. Jobs include, but not limited to: PC repair, application development, network administration, server maintenance and administration, and DBA. In other words, I have a rope on every extremity and they get pulled every which way constantly.

I used to work for a manufacturing company, then they outsourced us. I do the same job, work in the same office, but now I'm a contractor and my paycheck comes from another company. Some might say that things wouldn't be different. Oh, how much I wish that was the case. (I figured this forum would be the best place for it, since they are now technically customers.)

Now, if someone wants me to fix something, they have to call a help desk and have a trouble ticket opened. If they want me to do work that doesn't involve fixing something, they have to submit a work order. Sounds simple enough, doesn't it? (Before, people just called or stopped by my office to make requests, keep this in mind as it's quite relevant to the story.)

On to the story: I work on site at one of the company's manufacturing plants. I'm coming up now on three years as a contractor. We've had the above system in place now for two years. So, the other day the site manager puts in a trouble ticket. Seems he's having trouble installing a patch for Acrobat. (This being the full version.) I go down, it's asking for the disk. No sweat, I bring it down and install the patch. While I'm doing this he asks for an upgrade. Ok, it's not broke now (and wasn't before, really), so now it requires a work order. The following conversation begins: