This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Passenger asks me why I'm studying

Quiet night flight, I'm sat on my jumpseat in the galley doing some studying as I'm doing my English degree. Passenger asks me why I'm reading Dickens and making notes, I explain, his response is "why do you need a degree to serve tea and coffee?"

I gave him a nice lecture explaining cabin crew are onboard for safety as laid down by aviation law, we have lots of exams to pass, lots of my co-workers have higher qualifications, we have lots of flexibility etc and he shuffled back to his seat.

But why would you say such a thing to someone? How dare I try to better my education!
    No longer a flight atttendant!

'Asshole' doesn't even begin to describe that douchewaffle. Ah, if only passenger planes were equipped with ejector seats.
    A fact of life: After Monday and Tuesday, even the calendar says W T F.....

Comment

i believe that his next drink would contain the "special" creamer. dont criticize the person trying to better themselves. i work with attendants everyday, and most of them have at least an associates degree. i commend you on your studies and wish you good luck on the exams
      This is a drama-free zone; violators will be slapped. -Irving Patrick Freleigh
      my blog:http://steeledragon.wordpress.com/

Comment

Obviously, this brilliant specimen of humanity doesn't understand the concept of simply bettering oneself through higher education. In college, I took lit courses simply because I enjoyed them. They had nothing to do with my major (interior design), nor did I need them to graduate. (I did have to maintain a certain number of hours each semester for my scholarship.) I took them because they sharpened my reasoning skills and opened my mind to more of the world around me. This guy apparently sees education only as a means to an end. It's sad, really.

On a different note, which Dickens were you reading? My favorite is "A Tale of Two Cities."