This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello.

I am not sure if this website has anything to with an old LiveJournal community that a friend referred me to years ago, but in any case I always have enjoyed the stories told. I laughed and I cried. I now work as a public servant at a gas station. This outlet could be my sanity. Here is my ice breaker(s);

1.) "Where do I sign??"

I here this more than, "What are your cheapest cigarettes?" and it drives me insane When a customer has to sign for something I always put the copy that needs their signature in front of them, the line for the signature and the word "SIGNATURE" is right under said line and the way I place it put's the line right in their line of vision. They stare at the line for about 10-20 seconds before reading over the entire damn slip. UGH!

2.) "Why is the price of gas going up?" "This is ridiculous! I am reporting you for price gauging!!" etc., etc.

I am a damn cashier making $7.60 an hour to take your money and give you change for gas and other things you don't need but purchase anyway. I don't see any extra money when gas prices go up nor am I the guy making the choice to hike the rates. Please people, cut the poor cashiers and (where available) attendants some slack. They are just trying to earn a dollar.

3.) "April 1st, 2009 Tobacco Tax Increase"

First off, we've had pamphlets warning of a possible 156% tobacco tax increase for about 8 months, and no one has ever taken one. Now, customers are learning they are going to be paying more for their varied cancers. I can somewhat sympathize with them as a smoker (currently trying to quit) but there was this one guy...

Me: How are you doing today, sir?
    Guy: Not too bad. Can I get two packs of Camel Filters & two packs of Marlboro Red?
    Me: Sure. *grabs the smokes*
    Guy: *looks down to see the sign on the counter regarding the tax increase*.
    Guy: Wow, they're going up .62 cents a pack?