Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I got called a uptight, stuck up bitch!

Me???!!!

(I work in a pawn shop, by the way)

A guy calls in and asks how much we do on gold. No extra details about the gold in question, no pleasantries like a 'hello'... just "how much do you do on gold?"

Now, I'm not a gold expert, but I know we have an unwritten rule that we are not to give quotes over the phone. It's simply common sense because we don't want people coming in saying they were quoted this price for that item, when actually the item is beat up or its a different model, or whatever. So, I just tell everyone we don't give quotes/estimates over the phone. They must "bring in it and let us look at it."

So, I get the call and since I assume it's jewelry, I respond to his question with the whole "we don't give quotes over the phone, -- (and since this is gold) the price depends on how much it weighs, we have to test it, if it has any stones in it (we do a bit more if the item has sizeable diamonds) and the person's record" (think of it like a credit score - how much the person does business with us, how often they pick up their stuff, etc.). Just like I tell everyone else.

Well, he's pushing to get a quote, telling me it's 20 grams of gold, 14K and blah blah blah. So now, I'm guessing it's probably just a nugget or a bar of gold (let's call it a nugget for now) but still ... he's being quite pushy and rude. I should also add that gold can be plated over another cheaper metal which makes it pretty much worthless to us ...

I finally opt to get him an answer just to shut him up, but just because he's being an idiot - I give him a very low-balled, you're being an asshole quote of $3.00 (I could have quoted him much more, but, like I said, he was being a jerk-face).