This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1st Post- Insane Apartment Guy

I work as a concierge/ front desk person for a temp agency that provides temps for luxury apartment buildings. One day I was on assignment at a VERY swanky building. I'd been there a few times before, and all the residents seemed very nice. I thought I'd be in for an easy day. Wrong!

When I arrived at 7am, I was told that the heat was not working in some of the apartments, and if residents called to complain, take their unit number and add it to "the list". The maintenance crew was hard at work to solve the problem already. Ok, great.

A couple of hours later, a man in his mid-50s came to the desk to complain that his heat wasn't working. He was a little irritated, but not sucky. Yet. I apologized, explained that the maintenance team was working on the problem, and took down his information. He left. Again, great.

The rest of the day passed with a few complaints about heat, but no SCs. People were very understanding. Then, just about 30 minutes before I was to leave, the man from earlier came STOMPING up to the desk. This is the conversation that ensued:

SR= Sucky Resident
    Me=Me, 5'2", 100 lb Concierge
    Italics= My thoughts

SR: My heat is STILL not working! What is going on here? I pay blahblahblah in rent and you guys can't even get the heat to work? And I can't turn on my fireplace because that's been broken for -however long- and they keep fixing it and it keeps breaking! This is ridiculous!

Me: Sir, I'm really sorry about the heat. I did note your complaint this morning, and you are on the list that the maintenance crew is working on right now. I understand your frustration but they are working hard to get it fixed as soon as possible.