This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guess who else is a lawyer!!

Lady comes in, wants a cash refund for something she bought a year ago. Return policy is 30 days, as clearly stated on the back of our receipts. Well, she had no receipt. She had come in the store for refunds multiple times when she still had the receipt, was offered gift cards, checks from the company (since the amount she wanted refunded was more cash than we typically keep in the drawer at one time), and she refused. So she came in yesterday demanding her money back, and dropped the infamous line:

"I'm a lawyer, I know how to write a letter!"

I relate the story to my mom (former lawyer, now a judge) later, and you know what she said?

"She must be a pretty shitty lawyer if she can't read the fine print on the back of a receipt."

Would you like a Stummies?

by that logic I'm a lawyer too! I'm gonna go threaten cashiers with my letters!

Comment

Nobody move! I've got lowercase l's and capital R's and I know how to use them!
      Bark like a chicken!

Comment

I'm not a lawyer, but I know how to write a letter. I also know the magic words to use, and who to write to. They do get results.
        "I don't have to be petty. The Universe does that for me."

Comment

Yeah well I'm not anything like a lawyer and I still know how to write a letter.

Comment

I can write a letter, too!!! See?

A
            I don't go in for ancient wisdom
            I don't believe just 'cause ideas are tenacious
            It means that they're worthy - Tim Minchin, "White Wine in the Sun"

Comment

Ooo ooo me too!

.....ah crap.
              "That's too bad. Hospitals aren't fun to fight through."
              "What IS fun to fight through?"
              "Gardens. Electronics shops. Antique stores, but only if they're classy."

Comment

Just imagining, she ended up taking it to Small Claims Court.....

And just imagining, your Mom handles that type of case......