This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• You must be so proud.

As many of you know, I work as a car audio and electronics installer.

Over the past month or two, it's gotten warm enough that I can work with my bay doors open. That means it's open season for all the idiots who like to crank up their oversize subwoofer systems while they're driving past. Maybe some of them like to play their music that loud all the time, but it's clear that most of them are just turning it up for my benefit.

I don't know if they think I'll be awed, impressed, inspired, discouraged or just run around in circles until the Noise goes away. Maybe they're hoping I'll stop what I'm doing, stand at attention and give them a thumbs-up, nod and wink in recognition of a kindred spirit. Unfortunately, I absolutely Hate these people. The idiots who spend a ton of money just to force their musical "tastes" on everyone around them are the ones who give our entire industry a bad name.

Last night, though, I got one who was a little different.

I usually have my car parked outside my install bay. My car's equipped with an alarm system, complete with a flashing LED light that's visible from the outside. Last night someone driving by in a truck suddenly swerved over and parked next to my car. He proceeded to make enough noise to trigger the impact sensor on my alarm system, causing the alarm to go off.

The most unusual part: this guy didn't have a loud audio system. He just had a loud exhaust. I don't know if it was a glasspack muffler, or just a leaky one, but he was clearly very proud of it; and he proceeded to rev his engine until he made my alarm go off. He had to work pretty hard at it, because I deliberately have my impact sensor set very low. But after about 20 seconds of standing on the gas pedal, he managed to trigger it. Then he happily shifted back into gear and drove away.

I can only assume he does this as a hobby.