Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

No, Ma'am, you're the only one who read it that way!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No, Ma'am, you're the only one who read it that way!

Ok. First off, I work as a cashier in a grocery store. This past week, we were having a promotion. Five twelve packs of coke for $10, assuming you bought 5 packs and $25 worth of other stuff.

For this story, the cast of characters is as follows:

Me: Well, me
    SC: Sucky Customer
    My Brain: My thoughts not spoken during this transaction

So, this lady comes through my line with about 10 cases of Coke and definitely less than $25 worth of other stuff. I immediately decided to be helpful.

Me: Ma'am, I just wanted to inform you that those cokes will ring up at $2.99.

SC: No, they won't.

Me: Actually, you have to buy $25 worth of stuff for it to $2.

SC: There's a sign back there, and it says I don't.

Me: Well, there is something inside the ad. Let's look at it. (I grab a copy of the ad)

SC: That's the same sign by the sodas.

Me: Ah, yes, so you have to make a $25 purchase.

SC: Yes, and that includes the sodas.

My brain: Are you related to the SC who was convinced that buy 2, get 1 free meant you only had to buy two total?

Me (foolishly trying to reason with her): Actually, it doesn't. The $25 of stuff you have to buy is separate from other stuff.

My Brain: After all, if a jewelry store has a "cheap necklace with purchase of diamond engagement ring", then the ring and the necklace are different. Same thing if a grocery store has a "cheap coke with a $25 purchase order.")

SC: Well, I read it that way.

Me: Well, I suppose it can be read that way.

My Brain: But you're the only one who did.

Me: However, I can't give it to you at the $2 price. The computer won't let me.

My Brain: And, more to the point, I won't do it.

SC: Well, I guess I'll go get some other stuff. <SC leaves and comes back with more stuff. I scan it>