This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Segway + Illegal Weapon + Beer = SC

I was reminded of this incident by the "Because it's ILLEGAL" thread. Decided to post it seperately because I don't want to hijack the other thread.

My last job was at a privately owned, one-off hobby shop, which dealt primarily in plastic models and model railroading (HO and N scale). It was a pretty sweet gig, because there was no uniform/dress code, my uncle worked there (isn't nepetism great? ), and because we got an AWESOME discount (40% off anytthing not previously marked down). Plus, I am a hobbyist myself, and when it was slow, we were allowed to work on our own projects.

Anyway, onto the story (one of only a few SC stories I have form this job). I was working a weekend shift with one of the full-timers (who we'll call BC). It was just the two of us. I took a call from a customer who was looking for a particular type of battery with a specific molex-style connector on it, usually used in R/C cars and boats. Now we dealt only minimally in R/C (we didn't do R/C cars at all), and it was not my area of expertise, so I handed the call off to BC, who did know about this stuff. He spoke with the guy for a few minutes, and eventually offered to set aside a battery he thought would suit his purposes so he could come in and take a look at it. So he got one out of the locked display case and stowed it behind the counter so he could immediately show it to the guy when he came in.

Fast forward an hour or two. One of our regulars (we called them our VIPs. They were the ONLY people aside from store staff who were allowed to use our bathrooms) was in and we were chatting with him. BC went off towards the back half of the store to help an other customer while I stayed up front to watch the register and the door. The door opened, and in rolls this guy riding a Segway.