Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

If you already know the answer why ask the question?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• If you already know the answer why ask the question?

Alright, so BG: im an xray tech.

routinely (as in... at LEAST once a day if not far far more) after i get through taking a persons xrays they ask 'so is it broken?' or 'whats wrong?' etc. etc. soemthing along those lines.

I just reply with my standard line of 'i can't say anything the dr's gotta take a look and he/she will let you know if anything out of the ordinary showed up'.

due to the fact that well dr's have the medical training (one hopes ) to properly diagnose xrays. So yea legally i can't tell anyone anything about their xrays unless a doctors already looked a them and said 'yea that arms broken' or whatever.

Now if someone genuinely does NOT know that legally i can't say anything to them. fine. no worries. question asked, question answered and they're on their merry way.

My issue is the ones who ask and then when i tell them i can't say anything they reply 'oh i know you guys can't i just figured i'd ask anyways'.

why... that's like me asking 'so the earth revolves around the sun right?' 'yea' 'alright cool i know just checking'.

worst one of those was some teenage skater-type kid. had his xrays n asks the famous question. i reply 'nope sorry docs gotta take a look'.

and he keeps pestering me with 'come on you can tell me whats wrong?' (or variations of it).

after... roughly the 5th or 6th time of me telling him i couldn't say anything and him apparently just refusing to belive i wasn't gonna say something about his xrays i finally told him to get the hell out of my xray room since i needed it for other patients.
    Common sense... So rare it's a goddamn superpower.

"So, is it broken?"

"Nope the x-ray machine is working just fine. Dos'c going to have some great images to see if there is anything wrong or not"

Comment