This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Whole New Meaning for "Scam Artist"

I was working the register a few days ago, when this guy came up with about 9 or 10 gift cards in his hands. They ranged in amount from $50-100, and were for normally pricey things, like the Marriot, and at least 3 for a spa. He came up to me, and smiled. What happened next still makes me twitch.

SC: Eediot. Or he thought I was one.
    Me: Cute and sexy.
    SM: Shift Manager.
    AM: Assistant Manager.

SC: Hi, I'm an artist, and I was wondering if I could just have about 72 of these? I'm making a collage, and these don't have any value until you scan them, anyway.
    Me: Err, sir, *we* still have to pay for those, I'm not sure I can let you do that.
    SC: No one will know, and I really need these for my collage.
    Me: Sir, I really can't do that.
    SC: Get me your manager, then, I'm sure he'll let me have them. You just have no appreciation for the arts.

So I call for the manager, at which point, the shift manager shows up. He can't convince the guy that no, we really *can't* do that, so the Assistant Manager gets called.

The AM's argument is that it's the holidays, and we really do NEED all our gift cards for paying customers. Then he offered the guy any cards that we get that don't scan, and that we'll have to get rid of anyway.

The guy stormed out (sans cards) and I haven't seen him since. *rolls eyes*

Quoth Cygnata View Post

SC: Eediot. Or he thought I was one.
    Me: Cute and sexy.
    SM: Shift Manager.
    AM: Assistant Manager.

SC: Hi, I'm an artist, and I was wondering if I could just have about 72 of these? I'm making a collage, and these don't have any value until you scan them, anyway.
    Me: Err, sir, *we* still have to pay for those, I'm not sure I can let you do that.
    Something I don't understand here; Do you have to pay for the amount the card is valued,or the "cost" of the card?