Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Being a teacher is SO hard...gimme free stuff!!!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being a teacher is SO hard...gimme free stuff!!!

Yes, I'm bitter and cynical. That's why I'm here. Okay, I understand it sucks to be a teacher. Sucks to be a retail worker too. It sucks to work, period. Being independently wealthy is the only thing that WOULDN'T suck, really. We understand that teachers often end up paying for school books out of their own pocket. And we have a free discount card for teachers. Doesn't cost them a DIME, all they have to do is bring in proof that they are a teacher and whammo, they get a card that gets them 20% off of books they are buying for the classroom. You cannot IMAGINE what a headache teachers can cause, though.

1. It's SO inconvenient to have to bring in some sort of form of proof that I'm a teacher to get one of your cards. Can't you just believe me?
    2. I'll just pretend that this $50 architecture book and the latest John Grisham are for my class, even though I teach 3rd grade.
    3. I'll do all of my christmas shopping and pretend it's for my class.
    4. What, there are exceptions? I can't save 20% in the cafe, or on DVDs?
    5. It's already 20% off, so that means I get 40% off, right? (Wrong, it's 20% off the list price, not the discounted price)
    6. My educator card expired (anywhere from several months to several YEARS ago), and you politely tell me so. You inform me that you'll give me the discount today but that you are taking the card and I'll have to bring in proof that I'm still an educator to get a new one that is good for another year. But I still have to whine and complain that I've been using my card over and over since it expired and no one said anything. (It's MY fault other cashiers are morons?)