Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The customer thought I was a secret agent!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The customer thought I was a secret agent!

Background: There's this nut job that's a regular customer here. I have worked here over a year, and up to today, I was the ONLY person in the office who had never had her on the phone. I was actually looking forward to it because she'd been a customer at my previous job. As yet, she had no idea I worked here. I wanted to see if she'd changed.

She had. She's gotten worse. Or better, depending on whether you're referring to her mental state or the entertainment value.

THE SCENE:

An office with two computers, a laptop, several different kinds of printers, and paper everywhere. Enter the Mango, doing eight things at once, but only really concentrating on three or four.

[Phone rings.]

Me: "Good afternoon, Companyname, this is Mango!"

There is a short pause. Just as I'm about to repeat my intro, it speaks.

Customer: "Oh dear." [Sounds almost apologetic] "I was expecting a woman to answer."

The office consists of me and three ladies. I get that response from time to time. There's not much to say to that.

Me: "OK."
    Customer: "Have you worked there long? I've never spoken to you before."
    Me: "Yes, I've worked here for over a year."

This is where things get downright bizarre.

Crazy Lady: "!!!!!!!!!!!"

I never knew one could vocalize exclamation points. She vocalized exclamation points.

Crazy Lady: "!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Several times. She's so worked up it takes her a moment to compose herself.

Crazy Lady: "I know... **I KNOW**... that you're with...with...with CSIS!!"

CSIS stands for "Canadian Security Intelligence Service". About as close as I get to being a CSIS agent is watching reruns of "24", and that's not very close. At this point, I haven't yet clued in to the fact that this is our nut job.

Me: "..."