Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

You can't refuse my unreasonable request. After all, I pay your wages!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• You can't refuse my unreasonable request. After all, I pay your wages!

How many of us have heard customers tell us this before? "I'm paying your wages so you're going to give me what I want!" Really? I work in customer service, have worked in billing, repair, and technical support, and this is in the phone industry and cable TV. I have yet to see on any bill like this where in small print it tells a customer that part of their payment goes to pay an employee's wages. I myself have bills like this to pay, and I have yet to see this disclaimer on any of my utility bills.

How about grocery stores? I worked for Publix in high school, and we always had some misfit customer who would actually say this to the front end employees or managers. I shop at Publix, and have yet to see this on my receipts. In fact, at any department or grocery store I've shopped at, I have never seen this on any receipt, credit card statement, or anywhere on the walls of these stores.

So, where do customers get the idea that when they pay a bill or buy something, they're paying mine and your wages? I know my job, and if they know it better than I do, I would like them to point out this disclaimer to me.

I remember someone saying this to me at the newsagent where I worked part time during college to fund my all night boozing sessions. The reason was cuz I wouldn't refund them paper money; that's something that only the boss could do. My reply? "Well sorry, but you're too fat and too old to be my boss, so I think you're mistaken about that." Oh I would love to be able to say that now; back then, I hated the job and I reckoned that if this guy complained to my boss and he fired me, I could get another job easily. As it happened, he didn't and I kept the job right up to my final exams.