This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• As told to me by co-worker. :)

Background: I'm a travel agent in an emergency, after hours call center. Usually I'm griping about the things people deem an emergency, but this isn't one of those times.

My co-worker got the following call last night...

Woman and her co-worker, who work for a major US bank, are calling from the parking lot of a hotel outside Venice Beach.

CW - my co worker
    BBC - big baby customer

BBC: "Yes, we are in the parking lot of this hotel - and it's a DIVE!! We're not going in!!! You need to find us something else!"

CW: (Pulls up the reservation and sees a somewhat no-name hotel booked, but at a rate that seems high enough that it really *shouldn't* be a dive.)

"Ok, what seems to be the problem?"

BBC: "It's a DIVE. There are vagrants all around and we aren't going in!! You need to find us something else!!"

CW: "No problem, there's a (insert major brand hotel) available for 52.00 more per night, and it appears to be nearby. I can book you there, but the current hotel has a 24 hour cancellation policy, so your company will end up paying one night room and tax, plus the new night at at (major hotel).

BBC: "You need to CALL them and tell them they're a DUMP and they can't charge us!!"

CW: "You're in the parking lot of this hotel, right?"

BBC: "Yes!"

CW: "Have you gone in and spoken with them about it? They'll probably waive the fee if you advise them you're not comfortable staying."

BBC: "No! I'm NOT going in!!!"