This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drug Scammers - kinda long

As a pharmacist I deal with the whole range of SC's. This is one that dealt with and got some serious revenge on.

I was working in the pharmacy on a Sunday afternoon and got a call on a cell phone from a very hysterical woman who said that she was in alot of pain and was out of her pain pills (a controlled substance). She was on Medicaid and had just gotten the pills filled but had accidentally dropped them down the sink. I usually am very suspicious of these accidents but will give someone the benefit of the doubt if it's their first time having this happen, but I told her she would have to pay full price since Medicaid would not allow it to be filled yet. She agreed to do this.

I hung up with the woman and immediately picked up the phone to make a call and discovered that the woman had not pushed end on her cell phone. I could hear everything her and the person she was with was saying. At first I tried to tell the woman her line with me was still active but she evidenty could not hear me. She then proceeds to tell her friend (later found out it was her dad) that she can't believe how I (the pharmacist) fell for her story and that she couldn't wait to get some more pain pills, all the time laughing at my apparent stupidity. Needless to say I was getting exponentially pissed the more I listened.

When she arrived bright eyed and bushy tailed to pick up her rx I asked her if she had called me from a cell phone. She answered yes and I informed her that she did not end her call with me and I heard everything she said. For those of you who are familiar with the phrase "deer in a headlights look" this woman gave a perfect picture of what that looks like. I told her not only was she not getting the pain pills, I was going to call the prescribing Dr and tell him what she did. She then left in a big hurry. I called her Dr the next morning and he fired her as a patient.