This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What an odd kid

Backstory: I'm a pizza cook in a high end grocery store. My station is directly in front of one of the entrances, so I'm pretty much center stage to anybody walking in that door. We also use a real stone hearth for cooking - open flame and everything.

So a couple of kids, probably about 7, walked up while I was cooking "blanks" - the dough we use for our take-and-bake pizzas - I do this around 8-9 pm so the morning shift has plenty. They started asking me a lot of the typical questions that I get from kids while working - how hot is it (over 600F), can you toss the pizza in the air (yes I can, and I demonstrated several times, nearly losing one of them to a fire sprinkler), and finally...

Kid: What would happen if you put a kitten in the oven?
    Me: That wouldn't be a good idea. You should never put a pet near an oven.
    Kid: How about a child?
    Me: It would hurt. A lot.

Kid then wandered off to our concierge/personal shopper and asked the same questions. This particular concierge is a really nice guy, but he also has quite the evil streak and apparently mentioned something about roasted children to them (I overheard the conversation and almost fell over laughing)
    Last edited by bean; 03-09-2007, 07:05 AM. Reason: Can't spell

Fairy tales

Oh if only we could go back to the days were all children were told hansel and Grettel...
    ...but I'm a bastard and so desensitized to the scum of humanity that I'm immune to the Stun status effect.
    Quoth Gravekeeper

Comment

Quoth Cesii View Post
      Oh if only we could go back to the days were all children were told hansel and Grettel...
      The real version, not the 'edited for kiddies' versions you see now. I've got a collection of direct traslations of Grimm's Fairy Tales, and some of them will make your hair stand up even as a grown up.