Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sir, it is neither hygenic nor legal to defecate there...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sir, it is neither hygenic nor legal to defecate there...

So, a bit of background first...This past year I graduated from university and scored my dream job working in a large provincial park in northern Ontario. Overall, it was marvellous. I worked at one of the smaller campgrounds selling electrical sites, as well as backcountry passes to those hardier souls who don't need their RV to camp. However, you do meet some very sucky customers (well, sucky tourists) who expect the strangest things...

The omen...

This is were I realized parks is not all fun and sunshine. Or even bugs and storms...I was sent to pick up trash at the access point to the lake I worked at. (Basically where you put in your canoe) Whatever did I find? Used diapers, scattered through the woods. I guess I should be glad they did not leave them in the backcountry, but still!!! WHO leaves that type of thing on the ground? Little did I know...

Recylced Surprise
    A theme of the summer seemed to be people defecating anywhere BUT where they were supposed too. As witness when the maintenence guys informed me that they hade found a little ziplock baggies full of poop in the recyling bins. That is not recycleable. And for the record, the campground HAD flush toilets, people were just too lazy to use them.

Angry Brits and 'False Advertising'
    Co-worker (CW)
    British hikers (BHS)

BH: 'Scuse us, where do you keep the bears?
    Cw: Pardon? Like the stuffed ones from the gift shop?
    BH: No, the BEARS. Where are the cages? Where do you keep them? We want to know where we can go to see them.
    CW:Ummmm, sorry we don't exactly KEEP them anywhere...This is a park, they sort of...run wild?
    BH: What do you mean? There is no viewing area? There are no planned bear viewings?
    CW: Well, no...