Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Deadbeat customers get rewarded for their complaining!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deadbeat customers get rewarded for their complaining!

Did you know the Florida Public Service Commission rewarded deadbeat individuals who don't pay their phone bill on time? In the last couple of years, the PSC ordered Bellsouth to repay millions of dollars in charges billed to customers who did not pay their bill on time.

For a little while, Bellsouth had what was called interest bill for whatever the past due amount on the bill was, plus a one point five percent late charge added to the balanced owed. I worked in customer service and dealt with these people on an every day basis, listening to them gripe about why Bellsouth charged fees like this. You would explain to these people that it was mainly a deterrant to get you to pay your bill on time, but to no avail.

A few years back, the PSC ordered Bellsouth to repay all of the money they had collected in the interest charges billed. Why? Because these deadbeat low lifes actually filed complaints with the PSC, stating it was unfair for Bellsouth to do this when they paid their bills late. In addition, many of these people added in there that Bellsouth should also be ordered to repay fees charged, fees like the $23 restoral fee after a customer pays what is needed to turn their phone back on, and the $20 charge billed for those who write worthless checks!

In the end, Bellsouth won with the latter issues. And, as the president of Bellsouth stated in the news article on this, these are the type of customers who complain about fees like this. The customers who pay their bills on time every month don't have a problem with this policy at all.